8. Zumba

I went to my first zumba class at the YMCA, and it was a ton of fun! I almost forgot that I was working out. The instructor played music and stood in front of us all and we danced and followed along to the music. A lot of people think that there is no way dancing could be a workout (as I have heard people say to me about zumba class), but I was sweating the entire class. Not only was this class fun, but it also taught me something. It taught me that physical activity does not have to be a “chore”. It can be an enjoyable part of everyday. I think that it is important to teach students this so that they know that it can be fun to get physical activity, and that it does not always have to be revolved around running somewhere or lifting weights.

Here is a short clip of what a zumba class looks like, in case you do not know:

Zumba Class 

Leave a Reply

