Teacher As Learned Practitioner

The image best described by Kumashiro that relates to me the most when it comes to my own experience of learning to be a teacher in this program is “teacher as learned practitioner”.  I agree that what I have learned in this program, for the most part, is: learning about students (who they are, how they develop, and how they learn), learning about what is to be taught, and learning how to teach. I have had classes specifically on child development and growth, curriculum courses, and classes where I have had to demonstrate how I would teach. This shows that my experience relates to the image of “teacher as learned practitioner”. I do think that all of these parts of my experience have been useful and will benefit me greatly when I begin to teach. However, as discussed in class, there are limitations to this image. One limitation is that this type of program allows teachers to believe they should only teach what is “comfortable”, which can cause this form of teaching to be oppressive. It is oppressive because teachers stick to what they find familiar, which in a lot of cases, is a specific way of thinking. It does not allow for a lot of room for controversial topics, or things that are out of the “norm”. I personally want to teach in a way that allows me out of my comfort zone. I do not want to stick to what is “normal”. Rather, I want to open the minds of my students, as well as my own mind. Another limitation that can happen with this type of program is that teachers do not want to know more or know less. Some teachers, coming out of the education programs, believe that what they know is enough. However, I do not think that this is true. I think that being a teacher means a never ending supply of knowledge. Once you enter different schools, meet different teachers, parents, and students, you will be introduced to different opportunities, diverse views, and new experiences. It is important to learn from these experiences as it can help you to expand and grow as a teacher, which can benefit you and your students.

2 thoughts on “Teacher As Learned Practitioner

  1. I really enjoyed your response and agree with you when it comes to getting out of our “comfort zone”. As you said, teaching should not be something that becomes routine, something that is comfortable. In order to learn and to be able to teach, we have to constantly be on our tippy toes. I agree with you on the point that many teacher students think they know ‘enough’ when they are out of university. There is no way that we know ‘enough’ as our profession consists of constantly learning about new things and growing upon situations that will shape us, and our teaching methods. As a teacher, it is important to get out there and also connect with the aid of social media, which allows the discovery of new techniques and knowledge from all around the world. Great response, keep learning and discovering! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Curriculum as Narrative and Community: How I Contributed to the Learning of Others | Rose Couture

Leave a Reply

